Medical Education

Internal Medicine

On February 2, 2015 the SJMC Graduate Medical Education submitted the Intent to Apply for Institutional Accreditation under the terms of the Single Accreditation System. This begins the timeline for AOA programs to apply for ACGME accreditation.
Dr. Filiatraut

Program Director
Andrew Filiatraut, D.O., FACOI

AOA accredited program
100% AOBIM board pass rate
ACOI approved for 12 positions – 100% filled
Four (4) OGME-1 positions open starting July 1, 2015


Chief Resident, Internal Medicine 2016/17
Dr. Brandon Morris

 Dr. Brandon Morris
Chief Resident 2016-17

Dr. Jonathan Umbel Dr. Ann Hackfort
  • Hospital Resident Service with daily Attending Rounds
  • Continuity Care Clinic
  • Direct "“Attending to Resident" teaching
  • Weekly Harrison’s Club
  • Interactive, Resident Driven/Attending Supervised Journal Club
  • Resident Research Project
  • Internal Medicine Didactics (subspecialty lectures)
  • Case Studies twice a month
  • OMM lectures
  • Web-based Internal Medicine curriculum using the Challenger online learning course
  • Ohio University - HCOM CORE Education Day (monthly RPACs)

Internal Medicine Graduates Accepting Fellowship Training upon completion of our program:

  • Dr. Holly Bean (2016) – Infectious Disease Fellowship at Allegheny Health Network in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Dr. Lubaina Presswala (2016) – Endocrinology Fellowship at Hofstra North Shore Long Island Jewish Health System in New York
  • Dr. Grant Pierson (2015) – Pulmonary & Critical Care Fellowship at Parkview Hospital in Pueblo, Colorado
  • Dr. Catherine Stadler (2015) – Pulmonary & Critical Care Fellowship at Nassau University Medical Center in East Meadow, New York
  • Dr. Jantira Thomas (2015) – Geriatric Fellowship at University Hospitals, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Dr. Jonathan Umbel (2014) – Gastroenterology Fellowship at University Hospital Case Medical Center
  • Dr. Jason Stienecker (2014) – Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Parkview Hospital in Pueblo, Colorado
  • Dr. Katherine Eilenfeld (2013) – Hospice & Palliative Medicine at MetroHealth Medical Center
  • Dr. Ristenka Prnarova (2012) – Cardiology Fellowship
  • Dr. Barry Marolt (2010) – Critical Care at St. James Olympia Fields in Chicago

Internal Medicine Clinical Curriculum

Im July 2014 Incoming Internal Medicine and IM/EM Residents: Matthew Stevens, D.O. - LECOM Gregory Greene, D.O. - HCOM Mihir Buch, D.O. - TOURO John Conrad Baker, Jr., D.O. - LECOM Brandon Morris, D.O. - WVSOM Im July 2013 Incoming Internal Medicine Residents: Holly Bean, DO – DMU Jonathan McFadden, DO – OUHCOM Lubaina Presswala, DO - OUHCOM
Im Adam Rodriquez, D.O. (W. Virginia'11), Jason Stienecker, D.O. (LECOM'11), Jonathan Umbel, D.O. (OUCOM'11)

Back to: Top | Medical Education